Interest | Wellness

A Closer Look: 7 Chakras

Kamis, 07 Apr 2022 18:00 WIB
A Closer Look: 7 Chakras
Jakarta -

I think it was a year ago when I found out that there was a blockage on my throat chakra, and it was the time when I've impulsively decided to ask about what I've been curious about through tarot; my past life. To begin with, I'm an astrology believer, and I moderately practice meditation even though I'm not crazy about them, or is it because it's rather hard to be applied? Maybe.

Meditation has taught me a lot about being grounded and staying focused because I'm an overthinker--my mind is stuck in either being very busy or zoned out, never in a gray area. So, practice is needed here. I started to educate myself about the benefit of mindful practices, which gets easier at times due to my increasing awareness of the love of self, and believe it or not, it's all super logical.

The seven chakras are the prime energy sourced from the center of our body, starting from root to crown. The chakra itself translates as "wheel" in Sanskrit, which rotates to transfer all the energies in a circular motion and optimize when all the chakras are open. So what's happening to my throat chakra?

The throat chakra or Vishuddha is located in our throat, which gives the heart chakra a voice, controls our ability to communicate our true power, and is a medium for clear self-expression. So, when I found out that there was a problem with my Vishuddha, which was caused by my childhood experiences, I flashed back and reevaluated them. I realized that the calm approach I have been using toward situations is only a form of refusing a conflict. Yes, I 'flight' when in trouble.

As the youngest of four, I was used to being the quiet one, going with the flow, and I never thought that the attitude could turn into a ticking bomb. Even though I've never expressed my emotion in an extreme blow, I can feel that I was holding back, bottling it all up, creating a wall that quite much has been impacting my love relationship. Learning more about the throat chakra, I feel nothing but triggered. I'm eager to unblock it because I know I want to be the best version of myself, especially if I have to project something I desire. And to be honest, I don't think I have the luxury of time holding myself back any longer, though. What hits me is that each chakra has its own time developing, so it's not gifted, yet they are part of self-discovery.

Throat chakra develops at the age of 29-35 years old--just in time for me to recognize that I have another work to do; to unblock it and transform. As superstitious as it sounds, this fifth chakra is incorporated with the color blue and aquamarine stones, which can be utilized to help open the chakra by including them in our daily life and wearing them near the throat (e.g. clothes and necklace). Quoted from mbgmindfulness, several health conditions such as thyroid, neck and shoulder pain, ear infections, laryngitis, simple cough, and my BFF, acid reflux could indicate an energetic imbalance in the chakra. The healthiness of other chakras is also important to balance the health of others. I've been trying to use "I speak my truth, always" as my meditation mantra and applying more cat-wow and fish poses in my yoga routine. Singing, choosing words when communicating, avoiding negative phrases like "I can't" or "I don't know," and saying it with full awareness can also be good practice for your throat chakra.

mbgmindfulness also stated that the voice of someone with an open throat chakra could change the world with words, pitch, and vibration. So for my own sake--who thrive in a career while advocating climate change that the voice needs to be heard loud and clear, this practice is crucial. For you who want to know about the other chakras and anything that is associated with it, here's a complete list for you.

.7 Chakras/ Foto: Nutritious Life

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara)
Location: Tailbone area, the base of the spine
What it controls: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food
Mantra: "I can't grow from an unsteady foundation."
Color: Red
Element: Earth
Stone: Hematite
Yoga pose: Warrior I
When it develops: 1-7 years old

2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)
Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel
What it controls: The sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality
Mantra: "I always honor others but not before myself."
Color: Orange
Element: Water
Stone: Tiger's Eye
Yoga pose: Bound Angle Pose
When it develops: 8-14 years old

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
What it controls: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem
Mantra: "Self-love starts when I accept all parts of myself."
Color: Yellow
Element: Fire
Stone: Amber
Yoga pose: Boat Pose
When it develops: 15-21 years old

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)
Location: Center of the chest, just above the heart
What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace
Mantra: "When I love myself, loving others comes easily."
Color: Green
Element: Air
Stone: Rose Quartz
Yoga pose: Camel Pose
When it develops: 21-28 years old

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
Location: Throat
What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth
Mantra: "I speak my truth, always."
Color: Light Blue/Turquoise
Element: Sound/Music
Stone: Aquamarine
Yoga pose: Fish Pose
When it develops: 29-35 years old

6. Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)
Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)
What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom
Mantra: "I am open to exploring what cannot be seen."
Color: Dark Blue/Purple
Element: Light
Stone: Amethyst
Yoga pose: Child's Pose
When it develops: 36-42 years old

7. Crown Chakra
Location: The very top of the head
What it controls: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection
Lesson: "I am a vessel for love and light."
Color: Violet/White
Element: Divine Consciousness
Stone: Clear quartz
Yoga pose: Headstand
When it develops: 43-49 years old

[Gambas:Audio CXO]